Home > marathon, nutrition, recovery, Ultimate > I’m not supposed to exercise!!

I’m not supposed to exercise!!

I don’t like being told by a website that I should still be resting today. Even though it’s probably right. Today after work I was thinking of walking home. Saves a token, plus I got out earlier than I have been (I was trying to build comp time… no point this week because of Thanksgiving), so I felt weird being free at 5pm. I listened to the website advice and took the trolley. It’s only a three mile walk, practically nothing. Maybe after my next marathon I will be more rebellious. Right now I think it’s wise to listen to Hal, he has run many more marathons than me.

Today I am less sore than yesterday, which is a surprise. I associate the second day after a hard workout with more soreness if day one involved doing nothing. Today all I did was walk around the office, and I might go grocery shopping (don’t ask how sad my fridge looks). My left knee is more prone to hyperextension than it should be (but that is mostly from before, just slightly worse now that my muscles are more tired), and my quads still don’t like stairs. But other than that, I feel fine. Fine and anxious to do something.

I can’t even bike to work tomorrow. Another day of rest is due. Biking is practically nothing…

Just a note about race day nutrition: for breakfast I  had two eggs, toast, and strawberries. I woke up at 4:30am and finished eating before 5. Consumed 3 Gu’s (mile 10, 15, and 19ish), drank a good amount of Gatorade and water. Didn’t feel hungry except before getting Gu 3. Didn’t feel the least bit sick while running until the end when I started to sprint too fast, but that was just temporary. Post race was chicken broth, frozen apple juice, more Gatorade, a banana, and peanuts. Then the pizza and beer and water at my house.

My dad asked if I was consuming tons yesterday (Monday) to make up for the lost calories. The race took about 3000 calories. I did eat more, but it was partly out of boredom because my legs prevented me from leaving the house, and partly because I felt obligated to eat. Not that I didn’t enjoy eating every bite =) Thai food for supper, yumm!

Final note: Not being able to exercise is giving me cabin fever. I can’t stop thinking about the new training plan, and about races I might run. I need to remember that winter is the off-season of life. I don’t think I had a free weekend last summer. Can’t go scheduling races when I might want to play Ultimate!!

  1. Kate
    November 24, 2009 at 9:58 pm

    First of all, yay for the blog! Second, CONGRATS ON YOUR TIME! That is amazing! I hope I can get even close to that in my next marathon (hence my list of goals).

    There’s a hat tourney on Saturday. And/or I’m running a 5K in Phoenixville. But, yeah. I’m kinda bored.

  2. Kate
    November 24, 2009 at 10:01 pm

    Also, I would like a detailed list of how you prepared for the race. Speed work? Weights? Stretching? I want it ALL!

  3. November 24, 2009 at 10:05 pm

    I will make an entry about training. And thank you! I am very happy with my time. And that Hat tourney is definitely intriguing me. I might need to go shopping with Mom, though.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

