Home > marathon, running > History of Running

History of Running

I ran cross country in high school. I switched to Ultimate in college because everyone I talked to about Div I schools said the college runners were crazy and intense, plus what little I had seen of Ultimate I loved. I briefly did track in 7th grade in the school hallways (was scared of jumping over fake hurdles). Did a half year of soccer in 9th grade. Two of my friends in 9th grade did cross country. I heard them talking about Belmont Plateau and the horrible hill, and I thought “I could totally get those times”. I was not good at soccer; didn’t like the no hands nor the head butting the ball aspect of the game. And one of my favorite practices for soccer was when we went on a 2 mile training run, and half the people on the team thought that was too far. So when I switched schools after 9th grade, cross country was on my to do list. There was a two week cross country “camp”, during which I remember hitting my stride–at first I was going slow, and a few miles was tough, but one day I was in shape enough to go a speed that felt way more natural for my body. The coach one day said I had a runner’s body (which I still am not sure if he was just saying that in the hopes that I would stay on the team). What I’m trying to say with all this information is that my roots are in long distance running. Even after switching to Ultimate, it was always in the back of my mind that I needed to make sure to include long distance in my training. So my training for the marathon was never an introduction to running, it was a reconditioning my body for long distance. I also have never doubted my ability to complete a marathon (with proper training). So when I write about my training regime, please keep this in mind. It is way easier to retrain for something than it is to train for the first time.

Categories: marathon, running
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

