Home > biking, marathon > The Half Marathon Decision

The Half Marathon Decision

I want to expand on this point which I didn’t highlight in the last post. I am exchanging my goal of running a marathon on March 21st (and July 4th) for the goal of running a half-marathon on the 21st in preparation for the Portland marathon on July 4th.

I started this blog hoping that I would be better than the advice posted by other about new marathoners’ ability to compete in multiple marathons. I saw the Yuengling marathon on my birthday, and decided I should run it (beer plus running, who am I to refuse that?). The goal was to keep up the fitness I achieved while training for the Philly marathon, to overcome the winter workout lull, and to prove that the main advice online was for newbie athletes and may not fit YOUR lifestyle.

Well, what I say now is that I couldn’t defeat winter, and recovering from the marathon mentally took longer than I expected. I don’t know if my ability to run a second marathon four months after the first ever marathon would be different in the summer, but I suspect it would. My resolve was definitely weakened by evenings of darkness. Fortunately, from now until June every day is getting a little bit lighter.

I still feel positive about my fitness goals, I think my decision to run a half-marathon is more a representation of the flexibility it takes to maintain an athletic schedule. I guess my winter experience is a testament that the same goal will not always inspire the same preparation and work in training. As I mentioned, while I am disappointed I won’t run a full marathon, a half is also a challenge; maybe I will focus on speed. By letting myself skipping the longest runs, I can favor other activities (like hiking and rock climbing).

And biking to work… Jeez, I can’t believe how the weather change today. I took a short hike to check some of the places I GPSd yesterday and it was beautiful! Nine hours later I nearly freeze on my bike ride home. Fortunately I had lots of layers at work. I barely noticed the ninja hood. I also somehow managed to not get blown over by the wind from the west. Glad I decided to skip the running today, that bike ride was enough of a workout.

Categories: biking, marathon
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

