Home > Ultras > Something really crazy

Something really crazy

I signed up for a 24 hour run on July 18th that goes around the Schuylkill River loop (Kelly drive to west river drive). It’s two weeks after the Portland marathon, and it 24 hours! 20in24

Before your brain explodes, let me say that there is no reason I have to run the entire 24 hours. I can run as much or as little as I want. The run is for a good cause, Back on my Feet , which is an organization that helps the homeless through running. I get to set up my stuff in or outside of Lloyd hall, and can stop at any point and start running again when I’m ready.

But I’m aiming for at least 50 miles. And if I train well, I hope to run 50 miles in the first 12 hours of the race, stop and take a rest, and then continue walking and running for the last 4 hours. My first goal will be to keep moving forward for a certain number of hours (to be determined, based on training and the recovery from the Portland marathon), with the secondary goal of finishing more than 50 miles.

I will be fund-raising for this race, so keep me in mind when you are thinking of causes to donate to, and I will post the link to the fundraiser page when I get it set up properly.

Categories: Ultras
  1. Kate
    January 31, 2010 at 8:56 pm

    That’s so exciting! My chiropractor friend did that and had a blast. And it’s for a great cause! I’ll definitely donate.

  2. February 1, 2010 at 11:08 pm

    Thanks Kate!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

