Home > training > The environmental side

The environmental side

I said that my desire to be fit is driven partially by environmental considerations. I think that people should be able to get around without using a car–meaning walking, biking, or public transportation. Maybe a combination of all three. From time to time it hits me that some people may be physically challenged by the prospect of carrying groceries home via any of these methods. Simply, I need to be able to carry groceries while walking a distance (up to three miles so far), I need to maneuver a piece of luggage into a trolley to get to the airport, I need to be able to bike places and carry my bike up stairs when I  get there (and play a game of Ultimate).

I also think if disaster ever does happen, I want to be able to get out of the city without using a car and carrying the essentials. But that’s not a purely environmental consideration.

Categories: training
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

