Home > Cross Country, injuries, running > Running Form

Running Form

Running with an ankle brace makes me think about running form. With each step I try to use both legs evenly. I worry about being unbalanced. Using an ankle brace causes you to step differently on that foot; if you are not conscious of your body you can overuse the other foot or leg. I don’t like having to focus so much on each step. My form doesn’t feel natural.

I don’t remember thinking much about my running form in cross country back in high school. There was one day shortly after my first cross country camp began (two weeks of daily training before school starts) when my form clicked. The run that had been hard yesterday became easier; I went faster on less effort. My coach noticed and commented. After that, I could easily find my stride at practice. I don’t remember any other problems with my stride in my cross country career.

I want to find my form again.

  1. October 27, 2011 at 8:06 am

    For you and other readers who want to know more about how better form can help improve their running, this video series will help you.

    Running Form Video Series>>>> http://www.TransFORM-Your-Running.com

    Courtesy of Running Coach
    Ken at 5 Speed Running

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

